Yesterday was our first day in Den Haag, and it was hot. We may have brought the AZ sun with us, but the locals don’t seem to mind as much as we do. The only real down side is that our hostel doesn’t have AC, so everyone woke up in a pool of sweat. Ew.

Upon first arriving, we went to lunch and then on a tour of the city. As it turns out, we’re on the edge of the Dutch Ghetto. What does that mean? We’re staying in Den Haag’s red light district. Once we move towards the city center, it’s honestly beautiful. Den Haag is the governmental city of the Netherlands, so the king lives here nestled between various embassies. It will be interesting to learn more about the city’s history and how each building came to be. It’s also a little unsettling to see so many old building abandoned. According to our tour guide, after the economy crisis businesses had the option of staying or moving out to newer buildings. I understand, but it seems like a waste to leave so many beautiful buildings to wither away alone.

That was yesterday, today we had a chill day. We had some class time in the beginning, so we looked up things to do in the city, we researched the design studio that we would be touring, and I had time to organize my pictures from the trip. When I went to China I made the mistake of saving everything I took and honestly it wasted more space than anything. So this time around, I’m only keeping certain pictures.

Lost in Suburbia 

We got to sit with the founders of Lost in Suburbia and talked with them for a bit. It was honestly pretty rad! I understand that graphic design jobs do exist out there, but meeting with people and talking with them in their studios gets me excited for my future in this industry! I think I might make another post specifically for the things I learned today. So if you’re a closeted graphic designer looking for some tips/information keep an eye out for that.

That’s about all we did today. Now I have to figure out how I’m going to survive another humid/hot night in this hostel.

Travel tip of the day

IMG_2710Try local food and drinks. Yes, McDonalds is everywhere, but they don’t need the money. Yes, beers like Heineken are widely available but no local actually drinks that beer. Yes, Starbucks is here too, but real Dutch coffee doesn’t come from Seattle. Be adventurous.

 

Leave a Reply

